490 - Rotating Sentences

All about problems in Volume 4. If there is a thread about your problem, please use it. If not, create one with its number in the subject.

Moderator: Board moderators

Post Reply
gates1
New poster
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 2:11 pm

Post by gates1 »

please help me, this is WA

Code: Select all

var n,i,max:integer;
s:string;
a:array[1..100]of string;
begin
repeat
readln(s);
if length(s)>max then max:=length(s);
for i:=1 to length(s) do
a[i]:=a[i]+s[i];
until eof;
for i:=1 to max do
writeln(a[i]);
readln;
end.

rhsumon
New poster
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 12:29 pm
Location: Dhaka

490 PE Please help

Post by rhsumon »

Here is my code:
#include<stdio.h>
#include<string.h>

int main()
{
//freopen("490.in", "r", stdin);
//freopen("490.out", "w", stdout);
char str[101], line[101][101];
int len,i,j,k,m_len;
k = 0;
m_len = 0;
for(i=0; i<101; i++)
for(j=0; j<101; j++)
line[j] = NULL;
while(gets(str) != NULL){
strcpy(line[k], str);
len = strlen(line[k]);
if(m_len < len)
m_len = len;
k++;
}
for(i=0; i<m_len; i++){
for(j=k-1; j>=0; j--){
if(line[j] != 0)
printf("%c",line[j]);
}
printf("\n");
}
//printf("\n");
return 0;
}
Where is the problem??? I can't fix it.....Please anyone help.

Jan
Guru
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 10:58 pm
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Contact:

Post by Jan »

Search the board first. Don't open a new thread if there is one already.
Ami ekhono shopno dekhi...
HomePage

Bad Boy
New poster
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:17 am
Location: CSE, DU(13th)

Post by Bad Boy »

Accepted, but why spaces are required
Last edited by Bad Boy on Mon Jul 16, 2007 5:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jan
Guru
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 10:58 pm
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Contact:

Post by Jan »

You are checking garbage values. Initialize your array ( a[][] ) with spaces. Hope it helps.
Ami ekhono shopno dekhi...
HomePage

handsomepot
New poster
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 12:15 pm

490 help me please

Post by handsomepot »

I'd made all the test data cotrect on the board.
But I got WA all the time.
Here is my code
#include<stdio.h>
char a[101][101];
int max;
int main()
{

int b[101];
char n;
int i=0,j=0;
int k,m,p=0;
while(scanf("%c",&n)==1)
{
if(n!='\n')
{
a[j]=n;
j++;
}

if(n=='\n')
{
b=j;
if(j>max)
max=j;
i++;
j=0;
}
}



for(m=0;m<max;m++)
for(k=i-1;k>=0;k--)
{


printf("%c",a[k][m]);
if(k==0&&m!=max-1)
printf("\n");

}




return 0;

}

Jan
Guru
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 10:58 pm
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Contact:

Post by Jan »

Dont open a new thread if there is one already.
Ami ekhono shopno dekhi...
HomePage

handsomepot
New poster
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 12:15 pm

wa

Post by handsomepot »

I'd made all the test data on the boardcotrect .
But I got WA all the time.
Here is my code
#include<stdio.h>
char a[101][101];
int max;
int main()
{

int b[101];
char n;
int i=0,j=0;
int k,m,p=0;
while(scanf("%c",&n)==1)
{
if(n!='\n')
{
a[j]=n;
j++;
}

if(n=='\n')
{
b=j;
if(j>max)
max=j;
i++;
j=0;
}
}



for(m=0;m<max;m++)
for(k=i-1;k>=0;k--)
{


printf("%c",a[k][m]);
if(k==0&&m!=max-1)
printf("\n");

}




return 0;

}

jjtse
Learning poster
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 7:32 pm
Location: Nevada, US
Contact:

can someone double check this?

Post by jjtse »

It handles the above input cases exactly and it still gives me presentation error.

My current program outputs a newline at the end of output. Weird thing is, if I remove that last newline at the end of the output, it'll say wrong answer.

Code: Select all

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

string str [101];

void printSpaces(int n){
	int i;
	for (i=0; i<n; i++)
		cout <<" ";
}

int main(){
	int maxRow = 0;
	int i=0;	
	getline(cin, str[i]);
	while (!cin.eof()){		
		if (maxRow < str[i].length())
			maxRow = str[i].length();
		i++;
		getline(cin, str[i]);
	}
	
	int cols=0;
	int rows = 0;
	for (rows = 0; rows < maxRow; rows++){
		int spacesSaved = 0;
		for (cols=i; cols>=0; cols--){	
			if (rows < str[cols].length()){
				if (spacesSaved > 0){
					printSpaces(spacesSaved);
					spacesSaved = 0;
				}
				cout << str[cols][rows];						
			}
			else 
				spacesSaved ++;
		}
		cout << endl;	
	}
	
	return 0;
}

sapnil
Experienced poster
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:40 pm
Location: CSE-SUST
Contact:

Post by sapnil »

To jjtse

Trying this case:
Input:

Code: Select all

aaa                 aaa
                    aaa
aaa                    
         aaa           
                 a     
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
Output:

Code: Select all

aaaaaa
a aaaa
a aaaa
a     
a     
a     
a     
a     
a     
a     
a     
a     
a     
a     
a     
a     
a     
a     
a     
a     
a    a
a    a
a    a
** Every input line have same length.

Thanks
Keep posting
Sapnil
"Dream Is The Key To Success"

@@@ Jony @@@

jjtse
Learning poster
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 7:32 pm
Location: Nevada, US
Contact:

Post by jjtse »

Thanks! I got ACCEPTED.

mrmbdctg
New poster
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:12 am
Location: Bangladesh
Contact:

fraustatingly WA or PE Always

Post by mrmbdctg »

Here is my code I always get WA with it
#include<stdio.h>
#include<string.h>


int main()
{
char temp [101], result[100][101];
int k=0,len=0,tempo,i,m,j;
/*freopen("a.out","w",stdout); */
while(gets(temp))
{
strcpy(result[k],temp);
k++;
tempo=strlen(temp);
if(tempo>len)
len=tempo;
}
m=0;
for(i=0;i<len;i++)
{
for(j=k-1;j>=0;j--)
{
printf("%c",result[j][m]);
if(j==0)m++;
}
if(i!=(len-1))
printf("\n");

}
return 0;
}
Thanks in advance. By the way , I always code-- to be a WA man :wink:
Mizanur Rahaman Mizan
USTC, CHITTAGONG
BANGLADESH
Website:http://www.teronga.com

mrmbdctg
New poster
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:12 am
Location: Bangladesh
Contact:

is my logic also completely wrong

Post by mrmbdctg »

I have posted above code is the logic also wrong I am asking because I always getting WA


:(
Mizanur Rahaman Mizan
USTC, CHITTAGONG
BANGLADESH
Website:http://www.teronga.com

Samiul
New poster
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 3:01 pm

Post by Samiul »

Hi,
You are printing some garbage at the end. After correcting that try this forum,
http://online-judge.uva.es/board/viewtopic.php?t=5864
try sapnil's input, this is the one which gave me "accepted".

I think the new server got some problem with blank lines and spaces, for this it gave me a lot of trouble with this problem, and for this reason some of the input's, output's on the e-board are not correct anymore for this problem in new server.

mirage
New poster
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 9:37 pm

Post by mirage »

what should be out put for this input????
nd further more will i get a WA if i put extra spaces in case like

abcd
abcde

output:
aa
bb
cc
dd
e[space]

Code: Select all

"R  Jan
Ie
 n
te
h
iD
ne
kc
,a
 r
tt
he
es
r
eo
fn
oc
re
e
 s
Ia
 i
ad
m,
.
"

Post Reply

Return to “Volume 4 (400-499)”