Help With USACO Problem

Let's talk about algorithms!

Moderator: Board moderators

cypressx
New poster

Help With USACO Problem

Post by cypressx »

Hello . I want to ask you for some idea for one usaco problem. It is called Shaping Regions. It is a Chapter 2 problem. If you can give some idea please do it . Thank you very much . ( I am a newbie in the forum and my english is not so good - sorry ! )

anupam
A great helper

Post by anupam »

Hello, I am also sufferer for the problem. and, so posted in another thread. Watch it and help.
"Everything should be made simple, but not always simpler"

cypressx
New poster

Post by cypressx »

Ok. Thanks :)

mbakht
New poster

Post by mbakht »

Take a recursive approach. Approach the problem from backwards (at least that is what I did).

anupam
A great helper

Post by anupam »

Well Mehdi bhai, tried in that way. But, MLE and the other is TLE. Now, trying by sorting the coordinates.:-)

allornothing
New poster

Post by allornothing »

Sorry, I don't know what's MLE, TLE mean?
I also stuck in this problem 8)
Can you give me some hint?
Thank you.

Dominik Michniewski
Guru

Post by Dominik Michniewski »

MLE - memory limit exceeded
TLE - time limit exceeded
RTE - run-time error (crash)

Best regards
DM
If you really want to get Accepted, try to think about possible, and after that - about impossible ... and you'll get, what you want ....
Born from ashes - restarting counter of problems (800+ solved problems)

yaro
New poster

Post by yaro »

Hi,

I think in this problem you have to create some kind of sweeping (at the moment I'm thinking about that :). It's similar to calculating common area of rectangles, if you perform that counting colors will be easy.

yaro

yaro
New poster

Post by yaro »

Yes, sweeping worked out. My algorithm runs in O(n^2*lg n) time and it passed all tests.

anupam
A great helper

Post by anupam »

Please describe more..

cypressx
New poster

Idea

Post by cypressx »