PE == AC ?

Post here if you don't find any other place for your post. But please, stay on-topic: algorithms, programming or something related to this web site and its services.

Moderator: Board moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
rafagiu
New poster
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 8:30 pm

PE == AC ?

Post by rafagiu » Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:09 pm

I've noticed that, at least once, I got PE but my solution was accepted and the problem appeared as "solved" in my statistics page. Later I found right in this forum that there is some sort of "accept PE".

My doubt is: is PE always "accept PE"? How can I tell the difference from such an "AC PE" and a "WA PE"? Can I start printing everything in one line and forget about spacing and such? :D

Thanks!

User avatar
Cho
A great helper
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 11:51 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: PE == AC ?

Post by Cho » Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:44 pm

If you click on the ranklist page of a problem, you will see "Best Accepted or Presentation Error from each author" beside the ranklist. Presentation Error (P.E.) is always considered to be accepted in UVa online judge.
But PE will not be accepted in ICPC. So it's better to correct it even your PE submission is accepted here.
rafagiu wrote:Can I start printing everything in one line and forget about spacing and such?
I don't get what you ask.

User avatar
rafagiu
New poster
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 8:30 pm

Re: PE == AC ?

Post by rafagiu » Sat Nov 26, 2005 10:50 pm

Cho wrote:(RIP)
rafagiu wrote:Can I start printing everything in one line and forget about spacing and such?
I don't get what you ask.
Sorry! :o

What I meant is printing the output of every problem solution in one line, without even bothering about formatting it with spacement and newlines.

User avatar
shamim
A great helper
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2002 10:10 am
Location: Bozeman, Montana, USA

Post by shamim » Sun Nov 27, 2005 7:09 am

No, this will give u WA.

Suppose the answer is:

Code: Select all

1
2
3
 
you output:

Code: Select all

123
That means your answer for 1 would be compared as 123, which is different and it will give you WA.

User avatar
Martin Macko
A great helper
Posts: 481
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 1:18 am
Location: European Union (Slovak Republic)

Re: PE == AC ?

Post by Martin Macko » Sat Dec 10, 2005 2:11 pm

rafagiu wrote:What I meant is printing the output of every problem solution in one line, without even bothering about formatting it with spacement and newlines.
If the problem uses a special correction program, it is not guaranteed it will say PE on wrong formatting. However, if there is no special correction program it is sufficient to write a single space instead of any (positive) number of white spaces. But remember, the PE is accepted only in the archive, it is not accepted during a contest.

Post Reply

Return to “Other words”